THM Recipe: Peanut Butter Oat Breakfast Cookies (E)

Dear Reader,

These cookies make a yummy and fiber-filled breakfast. The recipe makes 6 cookies which is plenty for 2 breakfasts. The fiber will fill you up very well.

Peanut Butter Oat Breakfast Cookies (E)

Ingredients:

1/2 c rolled oats

1/2 c defatted peanut flour

1/4 c oat fiber

1/2 c xylitol

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/3 c egg whites

1/4 c unsweetened applesauce

2 tsp molasses

splash vanilla

2-3 tbsp almond milk or water

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Mix all ingredients except almond milk.

3. Add almond milk a little at a time until the dough is just moistened but still a pretty thick dough. If it is too dry, add a little more almond milk or water.

3. Form into six cookies on a cookie sheet.

4. Bake 15 minutes. Ideally, the cookies will be pretty firmly set yet moist (not soggy) on the inside.

photo 5

Ta-da!

Enjoy!

Nebby

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Meghan on January 31, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    How many of these could I have and still be in E territory? I guess that would be 5 grams of fat or less and 45 grams carbs or less.

    Reply

    • The only fat is in the (defatted) peanut flour. Mine says on the pacage that 1/4 c has 3g of fat. That would mean the whole recipe woudl be 6g of fat. So you could almost eat the whole thing but I think half a recipe’s worth is probably better. Personally, that is plenty of fiber for me and I think I would feel it if I ate more. The carbs aren’t enough that you shoudl run up against the 45g limit.

      Reply

  2. Posted by lisa on February 6, 2014 at 2:51 am

    1/3 ? egg whites? cups?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Tracy on March 7, 2014 at 10:44 am

    Not sure what I did wrong, but the dough came out more like a cake batter than a dough. Even before adding the milk. It still tastes great and I just made it into “bars” rather than cookies, but wondering what I did wrong?

    Reply

    • Bars sound like a great idea :)
      I like to get the dough just moistened so it is fine to leave out the milk if you are already there. I actually shape it into cookies with my hands; it’s thta thick. Gluten free flours often take a while to absorb liquid so you coudl try just letting it sit for 5 minutes next time and see if it stiffens up. If not, try more fiber or less liquid (egg whites? there’s not a ton of liquid in there). I also might wonder if different brands of oat flour have different effects. It’s not an ingerdient I’ve been using for long so I don’t have a ton of experience with it.

      Reply

      • Posted by Tracy on March 10, 2014 at 11:39 am

        Thanks for the info and suggestions! I loved them and will definitely be making them again no matter what shape they come out. My 7 year old and husband loved them too!

        Reply

  4. Posted by Diana Cortado on June 14, 2014 at 12:38 pm

    Could you leave out the applesauce? I hate to buy a jar because I very rarely use it anymore. I could make “fresh applesauce with an apple”…

    Reply

    • If you leave it out, I would think you’d need something else for the moisture. Pumpkin, maybe? We buy those six packs of 1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce cups for the kids and I use those. No wasting a whole jar of applesauce if it doesn’t get eaten up.

      Reply

      • My youngest is 18. LOL :-) Not sure pumpkin and peanut butter really go together, at least for me. That would be a whole can of pumpkin and I’d have to then find something to make with pumpkin. Maybe some NF Greek yogurt. Sounds like a plan…

        Reply

  5. Going to make these tomorrow! They look delicious!

    Reply

  6. Sorry for the Question but what is Oat Fiber ? Don’t have any…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers