THM Recipe: Mama’s Monkey Bread (S)

Dear Reader,

My girls went to a sleep-over last week. They both have dietary issues so I used the opportunity to make a special breakfast for the males of the house, a gluten-free monkey bread I found online. Not wanting to eat that much sugar myself, I came up with this recipe for my ow breakfast. If you are accustomed to eating real monkey bread with al its sugary layers, this may disappoint, but it was even a bit too sweet for me and was quite tasty.

Mama’s Monkey Bread (S)

Ingredients:

Bread:

1/4 c butter, melted

1/4 c canned pumpkin

1/2 c almond meal

1/2 c defatted peanut flour

1/4 c oat fiber

3/4 c xylitol

1 tsp xantham gum

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp baking powder

1 egg

Coating:

1/2 c xylitol

1 tbsp cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Mix bread ingredients.

3. Combine xylitol and cinnamon for coating in a small bowl.

4. Roll batter into balls and roll in cinnamon sugar.

5. Arrange balls in a pie plate.  Pour any extra cinnamon sugar over the top and bake for approximately 30 minutes.

Makes 3-4 good-sized servings.

Mama's Monkey Bread

Mama’s Monkey Bread

As I said, I found this pretty sweet so I may reduce the xyltiol in the dough to 1/2 c next time and see how that works out.

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. Wow! What a great idea! I love monkey bread and pumpkin.. whoa, what a combination! I can’t wait to try this!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers