Household Rules

Dear Reader,

We don’t actually have an explicit list of hosuehold rules. Thanks to Chrysalis though, I am pondering Susannah Wesley’s Rules. Some we couldn’t do–like #1 no snacks doesn’t work in a house with a child with diabetes. We are fairly regular on betimes, but one or two nights week church activities keep us up later. This is definitely worth bending bedtime for. We are big on #3, taking medicine without complaining. The diabetes thign figures in. I figure one of my kids needs 5+ shots a day and she takes them like a trooper. If anyone else tries to balk at medicine or shots, I won’t put up with it. I always get compliments from nurses on how well-behaved my kids are about shots and blood draws.

Rule #7 convicts me to try better; I should not give into whiny voices so much. I am a little confused on how #s 8 and 9 exist together. Eight says, “To prevent lying, punish no fault which is first confessed and repented of.” Nine says, “Never allow a sinful act to go unpunished.” Do these seem to contradict each other? We try to emphasize truth telling so often we will cut a penalty in half if the culprit of the moment fesses up right away. And we make it clear to them that we are doing this. I am sure I do otherwise let some sinful acts go unpunished too. There are times, I hate to say, when it just seems to inconvenient or tiring to punish all the little things.

I like #10: “Never punish a child twice for a single offense.” I am trying to also let a sin go once it has been paid for with punishment and/or apologies. Without thinking I may repeat a day’s incident to my husband when he gets home but if a sin is truly to be forgotten once it is paid for I think I need to at least not tell him about it in front of the offender.

Number 14 (“Strictly observe all promises”) is another one that pushes me to do better. I always appreciated that my mother kept her word. If she even said she would think about doing something, you could bet she would do it.

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. Fabulous reflections… and thanks for the link love. So nice to meet you Nebby!

    Blessings, e-Mom @ Chrysalis ღ

    Reply

  2. P.S. I have to say I’m impressed with your child’s composure when it comes to injections and blood draws. You’re a trooper yourself, Mom!

    e-Mom
    http://www.facebook.com/ChrysalisCafe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...