Theology Curriculum

Dear Reader,

I mentioned in a previous post that we have been using James Beeke’s Biblical Doctrine for Younger Children (find it here). We have done the first volume and overall I am happy with it. It has more substance than anything else I have found for kids this age which is the main thing I love about it. And for the most part, our theology is inline with Mr. Beeke’s. There are a few places where I found myself editing out parts or rephrasing things. Mr. Beeke seems to be from the King James only school which I am not (and no offense to Mr. Beeke but I just have never understood the logic of that position). So we ended up looking up verses in another version of the Bible. He also apparently celebrates holidays like Christmas and Easter which we at least do not do in the context of corporate worship. We celebrate Christmas at home as a family but do not mark it in church. And Christ’s resurrection we celebrate every Sabbath, not just once a year.

The last thing I remember not sitting right with me is a more theological point about the covenant. Unfortunately, I have just skimmed through the volume we did again and I can’t find what bothered me! I think it was a matter of wording and I wasn’t sure if he was getting at something else that was beyond me. I will edit this if I find it!

Nebby

5 responses to this post.

  1. […] are beginning Book B of James Beeke’s Theology for Younger Children (see my earlier review here). So far I am liking this volume. The chapter we are in is talking about different kinds of faith. […]

    Reply

  2. […] James Beeke’s Theology for Younger Kids B in our homeschool (see my previous posts here and here).  This is miraculous faith. It is faith that looks for what God can do for us but falls away […]

    Reply

  3. […] and have been through the “Younger Children” volumes. I have posted on them previously here. They are not perfect, in my opinion. But they are the best I have found for teaching kids real, […]

    Reply

  4. […] also at some point begin James Beeke’s Bible Doctrine for Older Students (see my review here), and we are going to begin the Chronicles of the Ancient Chuch series. And some days we will […]

    Reply

  5. […] for Older Children to use for part of the year. We have done the earlier level previously (see this post) and while I don’t think it is the perfect curriculum, it is the best thing from a reformed […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...