Homemaking Questions

Dear Reader,

I am wondering how other moms and wives out there decide what to do. I mean things like: Do you make your own bread? Do you homeschool? Do you clean your house or hire help? Basically, how do you deal with the many, many things that go into running a home and family. I feel pressure two ways on this. From non-Christians and certain subsets of Christians I know, there is amazement that I do anything myself. You clean your own house? You don’t have help? You educate your own kids? I have actually been asked if I feed my family dinner every night. I had no idea how to answer this question at first. Umm . . . I have 4 kids. They have to eat. Then I realized that the intent was “you cook?! Every night?!” versus eating out every night.

On the other side, there are the more conservative Christians. Some in person and many here on the net from whom I feel pressure to do everything myself–homeschool (we do), make all my food from scratch, possibly even down to grinding my own grain, make my own soaps to scour with and on and on.

So I guess my question is how do you navigate all this? How do you decide what to do and what to outsource?

Some things for us like homeschooling are about how we want the work done. The kind of education and interaction we want our kids to have can best be done at home.

Some things are about money. I just can’t see paying someone to clean my house. Now my house maybe could use it but to me it is just not worth the money. Lately I have begun making my own croutons. It is not that we can’t afford to buy croutons but it just appalls me to pay so much for stale bread. I can stale my own bread at home. Obviously, there is going to be a lot of variation in what people can and can’t afford to pay for.

Some things I enjoy doing, like making bread. 

Some things are health decisions. I would like to avoid transfats and corn syrup so some things are better made at home.

But on the flip side, some things are time related. I could make my own soaps. I could make more food from scratch. But the time I spent on those things would have to come from somewhere else. Time is a commodity as much as money.  I have a little vegetable garden and I enjoy working on it. But I am not very good at it. I have to admit it is more efficient and productive and probably, since I don’t produce much in my garden, even cheaper for someone who specializes in farming to grow lots of veggies and for me to buy them.  

So how about you: what do you do and not do yourself and why?

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by erica on August 26, 2010 at 1:45 am

    i can understand the pressure; i too feel that. i have come to see the “whatsoever is noble, pure, etc.” to apply here, as well as the Scripture about Jesus’ yoke being easy and His burden light. does that make sense? also, conferring with husband is necessary as well; often times i find myself laboring under a false burden of trying to do EVERYTHING, thinking husband will only be pleased in that way. i hope i’m making sense.

    i also wanted to know that i enjoy reading your posts. i may not comment very much, but i do enjoy visiting!

    Reply

  2. […] so on. But these things are not for everyone. I blogged about how to make some of these decisions here. Suffice it to say that just because some other mom makes her pudding from scratch doesn’t […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...