The Mark of a Good Family

Dear Reader,

Okay, maybe it is not THE mark of a good family but I think a great test is this: when you visit, do you want to be treated like family? Now we all show different faces when it is just family or when visitors are present. But I also think you can get a pretty good idea of how the family members treat each other if you are observant. I have some people I visit (some extended family) who would say they are treating me like family when I am there, and I just want to say, “Can’t you treat my like a guest?? A stranger??” Because I know they are on better behavior with people they don’t know, and frankly, I’d rather they treat me like that. But other families, who try their best to make me feel at home, I really wish I were their family. Because as nice as they are, it seems like it would be even better to really belong there.

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. […] blogged here about one thing I consider the mark of a good family. It is that others want to be treated like […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...