Why I Like Reformation Day

Dear Reader,

I am sorry I didn’t get this post out yesterday on Reformation Day. I was reminded yesterday of why I like celebrating Reformation Day. I know I have posted a lot of this recently–why we don’t do Halloween, why Reformation Day and not All Saints’ Day–but having been through another October 31st, I am convinced again that it is the right choice for us to celebrate the Reformation in its own right, not just as a Halloween alternative.

Here is what I like about it. I like that it reminds me of God’s faithfulness to His church. That even in what seems like the darkest hour, Go always preserves a remnant of His people. And also that it reminds me of the opposite, that the church can prosper. It often feels around here like we live in a very dry time when each conversion takes decades of agonizing and we see little fruit for our efforts. But I am reminded that it has not always been so throughout history and hopefully will not always be so.

And I love singing Psalms on Reformation Day. Apart from any theological argument for psalm-singing (another topic I have already blogged on a lot), I love that when we sing the psalms I can think that if Martin Luther or Calvin or Paul or many other saints from of old were there they would recognize the content of what we are singing (assuming of course they could understand English or have it translated for them).

I also love that Reformation Day reminds me that God cares what we believe. When I look at other blogs and discussion boards, I often read the comment that we Christians just argue with each other endlessly and why can’t we just let others believe what they will. And I am not saying there isn’t a lot of bad attitude and words in out theological “discussions.” But I also know that what we believe matters. God cared enough to reform His church, to get it back on track when it had gone astray. We should also care that we are constantly getting ourselves back on track and not letting the content of what we believe fall by the wayside.

And lastly, Reformation Day is a reminder that none of us have it all right. We are not perfect and I am sure that in each of us there are some wrong ideas and practices. So we must always be on the lookout to reform ourselves and to come closer to the truth. Semper reformanda.

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. Semper Formanda!
    We do not mark the day in any special way, but I agree it is good to give praise and thanks to God for raising you Godly men at the time of the Reformation and continuing to reform all of his people, through all the ages.
    Lovely to read of another Psalm singer. I will have to check out those posts now. I spent my time last visit checking out the diabetes related posts.

    Reply

  2. […] Why I Like Reformation Day […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...