Review of the New Psalter

Dear Reader,

As you will know if you read here frequently, our church sings psalms exclusively.  We have a book called the psalter which sets the psalms to music. We do this because we belive that the psalms are God’s Word, that were given to us to use in worshipping Him, and that we are commanded to worship Him in this way. In an earlier post I discussed the fact that although the theory behind psalm-singing is great, our application of it is not perfect.

Our denomination came out with a new psalter this year. I have now been through the whole new psalter, selection by selection, comparing it with the Hebrew text. This is my summary of what I found:

Evaluating the psalm translations is a subjective process. What seems poor to me may be acceptable to you, and vice-versa. I have chosen to give letter grades to the psalm selections. I am a tough grader. A “C” grade should be seen as an average psalm. Most of the selections fall here. They would not pass for good translations in a version of the Bible. However, given the necessities of putting the psalms to music, they are acceptable. I would call them mediocre translations and would love to see the bar raised for all psalm selections, but C’s to me will do. To get an A, a psalm selection has to be perfect or very nearly perfect. There are only a handful of A’s. B grades are given for psalm selections which are very good but not perfect. I would that all selections could be B’s (if not A’s). D selections are below average. They are poor. I would prefer not to have to sing D’s, but there are so many of them this is impossible. F’s are failing grades. Occasionally, we only have F-level selections available. My personal preference, however, would be to avoid singing F’s.

Though I had also been through the old psalter, I approached it in a different way and so I don’t really have hard evidence I can compare to say which is better. My gut feeling is that the old psalter was a little better. While there are some very good psalms in the new psalter, there are also many that make me wonder what the translator was thinking. In the old psalter, I did not get that feeling as much.

Next time: why does it matter? and how should we be translating the psalms?

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] is a follow-up post to this one so look at the previous one first if this makes no […]

    Reply

  2. […] the new psalter selection by selection and compared it to the Hebrew text. I wrote about my results here. The upshot is I am not overly pleased with the new psalter. I wish we had higher standards for the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...