Things I Want that I Can’t Control (or the Serenity Prayer)

Dear Reader,

You know the serenity prayer that seems so popular? Even non-believers seem to like it. It says,

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.”

It is okay, but frankly I don’t think it has it quite right. Because ultimately there is just not that much we can control. I am a firm believer in the fact that we cannot change other people. Only God can change people’s hearts. He may use our efforts but the real change is up to Him. And that is true of most of life as well. We may do the right things but the outcomes are really up to Him.

Here are the things I am wishing I could control right now that I can’t:

1. My daughter’s diabetes. I have blogged enough on this. Suffice it to say sometimes you can do all the right things–count carbs, dose insulin, take into account physical activity–and you still don’t get the predicted results.

2. My son’s headaches. My ten year old has had a headache for 4 weeks and 1 day today. He had a similar spell over the summer. Then it eventually ended in its own. So far this time no signs of abating. We are seeing a neurologist and things but nothing has changed. Nothing seems to make the headache better; not much makes it worse either. (If you have any experience with anything like this, I’d love to hear it).

3. My woodpecker. Okay he is not mine but he has made a nice sized hole in the side of my house. I don’t know how to stop him. I don’t know who to call to fix the hole. I don’t like the idea of my house having holes and beginning to rot. (Again, any advice?)

4. My friend’s job. I really want my friend to move closer to us. She is interested if she can find the right job down here. But I can’t find her a job. And I can’t make her look harder if that would even help. 

These are the big things on my plate right now to worry pray about. There is not much I feel I can change and control these days.

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...