Giving Us What We Can Handle

Dear Reader,

You often hear people say that God will not give us more than we can handle. I assume this is based on 1 Corinthians 10:13: “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (KJV; I don’t usually use or quote the KJV but it came up first so there you go. A couple of haths every now and then are good for one I suppose.) Usually I would argue that this verse is taken out of context. I have probably already done so at least once in this blog. The verse does seem to be saying that God will not put us in a  situation where we can do nothing but sin. But too often it is taken to mean that God will not give us troubles beyond what we think we can handle which is usually not a very high bar.

But this week, I am grateful that when one area gets tough, God sometimes gives me a break in another. This week the things on ym mind have been a very annoying woodpecker who is destroying the side of our house (very minor in the scale of things I know) and my ten-year-old’s headaches. Or perhaps I should say headache because it is one headache that he has had for four and  half weeks now. Yesterday it was worse than it had been in quite a while. Today it is better than it has been in quite a while. Which is why I find myself able to sit back and be philosophical about it. But back to my point, with these other worries, my eight-year-old’s diabetes has been pretty easy this week. She is in one of those all-too-short periods when the numbers just seem to be good. I am sure growth hormones and things will kick in soon and send them wacky again. But for this week I am just really glad that I didn’t have to think about the diabetes stuff too much.

I can think of another time when I remember thinking that God was sparing me more burdens than I could handle. It was in about January or February of 2004. My oldest was 3. My second was 1, almost 2, and had had type 1 diabetes for about 3 months. And my third child was 3 months old (do you note the timing there?). Life was crazy stressful. I was adjusting to the new baby (comparatively easy) and the new chronic illness (which took months or even years to settle down to something like normal). And then the cat got sick. I don’t remember what his symptoms were but when we took him to the vet, they ran standard tests and among other things, his blood sugar was high. They said it could be just from whatever infection he had or he could have diabetes (type 2 for cats; I asked). Now I know some people  would just not keep an animal with diabetes. But how could we say no, this disease is a deal-breaker when our child has it (type 1 and 2 are different diseases I know but they do have the same name)? I couldn’t very well give away or put to sleep my cat because of this. And yet I didn’t feel I could handle one more thing on my plate right then. And maybe God knew I couldn’t either because when the cat was retested, his blood sugar was fine. It was just the infection.

So sometimes maybe God is just being a merciful father and knows when we need a break from things. And that’s enough for this week.

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by chosenwoman on November 21, 2010 at 3:14 am

    AMEN! Love the post! When I think to myself and say Lord I can’t take it I am so reminded of that same verse and that He allowed me to go through it because He knew I could handle it and that I will give Him all the glory, for one day I will meet someone who will be going down that same path I just came down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...