Shepherding a Child’s Heart

Dear Reader,

We are reading through Ted Tripp’s book Shepherding a Child’s Heart. I had read most of it about 10 years ago when our oldest was a baby. Back then I remember thinking that large parts of it just weren’t relevant to me yet. But now our discipline issues have changed, It is a lot more about attitude these days and a lot less about simply “don’t touch that.” So I am curious to see what it will have to say again.

So far I have reread the first three chapters. I agree with the premise of the book, that we need to address heart issues rather than merely outward behavior. But I am wondering about how to implement this. I do not believe that we can change another’s heart. That is God’s work. So what is the work of the parent? I do believe we are His agents in our children’s lives, at least for a time. But how does our work work with His?

I do believe there is some value in addressing outward behaviors. Habits are hard to break and it is better to establish good ones than bad ones. As long as we realize that these are outward things and do not necessarily speak to what is in the child’s heart, I think it is fine to insist upon some level of good habits, whether it be brushing one’s teeth or speaking politely to one’s elders. But if the real battleground is in the heart and yet we are ultimately unable to change another’s heart, what is left and how do we proceed? I don’t now if Mr. Tripp’s book will answer these questions but I am curious to see what he has to say.

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] are beginning of Tedd Tripp’s book Shepherding a Child’s Heart (see the previous post here). We have read a few more chapters now so I have a few more […]

    Reply

  2. […] Tripp’s Shepherding a Child’s Heart (I have written earlier on Mr. Tripp’s book here and here). It was given to me when I was pregnant with my first child, and I have heard it cited […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...