How We are Eating Now and a Recipe

Dear Reader,

[I am submitting this post to slightly indulgent Tuesday. Check it out here.]

I posted recently on our elimination diet and its results. The short version is that my ten-year-old and I are going gluten and soy free, at least for a while. Also, my nine-year-old has had type 1 diabetes for a number of years. In theory, she can eat anything and we can give her insulin to cover it. In practice, some things work better than others.

Our meals have been affected by the type 1 for a while now. We never tended towards mixed dishes like casseroles. Too hard to count the carbs and kids don’t tend to like things mixed together anyway. When planning a meal, I usually think of meat/main dish, one carb-y dish, a veggie, and a fruit. We have fruit with almost every meal as part of the meal, not dessert. We don’t usually have dessert at all. And we do not do two very high carb dishes like pasta and garlic bread together. A lot of carbs at dinner does not tend to sit well with my cwd (aka: child with diabetes).

Now we are adding the gluten-free component into all of that. It is not as hard as it could be. The fact that we tended to isolate our carbs anyway, to have them mostly in one dish and mostly simple dishes, lends itself well to the new diet.

As a cook, I tend to go by feel rather than exact measurements and to play around with things a lot. A lot of my recipes are in my head and they may vary a bit from one baking to the next.

Nonetheless, I would like to begin occasionally posting some of the things we are eating.

Here is a simple one for my first recipe. My kids have never been big sandwich eaters so we tend to have different but simple things for lunches. Bagel dogs (those little sausages wrapped in a dough, usually crescent rolls) used to be a favorite. Of course they are not gluten-free. So today I tried making my own using Bob’s Red Mill’s gluten-free cornbread mix. Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

I package Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free cornbread mix

2 eggs

1 cup milk (this is less than the cornbread recipe calls for)

1/3 cup oil

approx. 12 hotdogs, cut into thirds (I used Oscar Mayer angus beef nitrate and msg free ones)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Grease cookie sheet.

Mix all ingredients except hotdogs.

Wrap about a tablespoon of the batter around eat hot dog segment. I did this with my hands. It is a little sticky but not too bad. I did not measure the batter as I did this but used enough to give each “dog” a blanket around its middle but leaving the ends open.

Place wrapped dogs on cookie sheet and bake for approx 15 minutes or until the cornmeal coating begins to brown slightly.

The finished product

Two of my children sais these were better than normal bagel dogs. Unfortunately, the gluten-free child did not seem to be thrilled though he did ask for one more after his first serving. I may try using even less milk next time to make a slightly stiffer dough. I would also like to try it to make corn dogs.

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Handwoven Textiles

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...