Gluten-Free Oat Bread

Dear Reader,

[This is my recipe for Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays. Read them all here.]

I really felt like eating bred with dinner last night. In addition to being gluten-free, the headache diet I am on  also says no fresh yeast breads. I have an oat bread recipe I really liked from pre-GF days that using baking powder so I thought I’d try to make it GF. The result was pretty good (I thought). One of my kids asked for thirds. The others seemed less thrilled. They thought it was bland. I thought it wasn’t too bad. I think not having had real bread in a while lowers one’s expectations. Next time I might add a little cinnamon and make it a breakfast bread. Or even turn it into muffins. For consistency and moisture it was pretty good which is hard to get in a GF bread.

Gluten-Free Oat Bread

Ingredients:

1/4 tapioca starch (=tapioca flour)

1/2 c potato starch (not the same as potato flour)

1 1/2 c white rice flour

1 c oat flour

1/2 GF oats

1/4 c sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp xantham gum

1 1/2 c milk

1 egg

2 tbsp canola oil

1 tbsp safflower oil

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Grease  a 9×9 inch pan or pie pan (I actually use a springform pan. The sides pop off which makes it much easier to get breads and cakes out.)

2. Combine dry ingredients.

3. Add wet ingredients. Mix well. Let mixture sit for 5 minutes. Transfer to greased pan.

4. Bake at 350 for approx 30 min or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

That’s it! Pretty easy, huh?

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. […] The kids and I went apple-picking last week. We got 30 lbs of Cortland apples. So over the weekend we made apple muffins and apple crisp. For the muffins, I decided to use an oat bread recipe I had tried earlier that seemed like it would make good muffins (here’s the bread recipe). […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...