Homeschool Updates

Dear Reader,

We are three weeks into our homeschool year so far and I would say it is going pretty well. I mentioned in a previous post that we switched the order of things this year. Now the kids do their individual work first, we have a little break, and then we do our together work. This has worked pretty well for us. The kids are very motivated and start their work as soon as they can. I have to say I am not available to help them till 8am.

Another thing we are loving is Shakespeare. Yes, Shakespeare. We read one narrative version of Twelfth Night over the summer and now are doing Comedy of Errors. I think the book we have is the version of the Lambs, but without it in front of me I am not sure. The kids always beg for me but we are trying t take it slow so they would retain interest. I think Charlotte Mason would be proud.

In history, we are doing the ancient Greeks. This is going well too. Though I did not find one spine book I like and am piecing things together from works by Tappan and Guerber and a few library books. But the myths and stories are a big hit. Again, they are really into the stories and always ask for more.

Getting more time outside has been a big priority this year. My goal is 2-3 hours a day. It was going pretty well till this week. The last few days have been rain, rain, rain. Not the light drizzly kind either. But tomorrow is park day again and we are hoping it will be dry. The past few park days we have been there for 4-5 hours so I figure that counts for two days!

There are few things I want to change. Like copywork. We have a book from Queen Homeschool we have been using. But for them the quotes are out of context. They don;t seem to appeal to the children. So I think I need to buckle downa nd do a little more prep and use quotes from things we are reading.

I think I may do another post on grammar because people seem to ask me what we use a lot.

For science we are reading through The Storybook of Science and the kids seem to be enjoying it so far. They really like the milkmaid ants that get food for their fellow ants from the lice. We plan to do nature walks with a couple of other families but that starts next week. Hopefully then we will be more regular with our nature journals.

That’s where we are so far.

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...