One Brief Thought on Evolution

Dear Reader,

So I don’t want to get into a big discussion of creationism versus evolution in this post (and everything in between). Perhaps in another post. My own position is still somewhat ambivalent or perhaps I should say in flux.

But I had one thought today that I wanted to share. I was reading an article on various dinosaur fossils that have been found and the scientists’ theories about them and all the animals that may have come in between. And I thought, “this is really cool.” For instance, this article (in the magazine BBC Knowledge, by the way) said that the first birds may have had 4 wings instead of two. Wouldn’t that be cool to see? Maybe that specific bit is not true, but when I think of all the kinds of creatures that we know God has made, and all the kinds He may have made, and how (I believe) He rejoices in His creation, I want it to be true. Maybe it’s not the best reason for believing anything, but I’d really like to believe in a  world in which all these fantastical creatures had at some time existed.

I know there are various explanations for dinosaur fossils even among those who call themselves strict 6-day creationists. One of the first ones I heard was that the creatures never lived but God placed their remains in our earth, perhaps to test our faith. But this I cannot accept. It seems too deceptive. I don’t think our God works that way. And more than that, He does delight in His creations, in all His marvelous creatures. I can’t see Him making them just to be bones and never to live.

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] discussed creation and evolution in a number of previous posts (see here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here; I told you there were a lot, and technically that series of posts is not […]

    Reply

  2. […] One Brief Thought on Evolution […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...