More CM Educators Plus Volume 5

Dear Reader,

I blogged recently on a series of books, The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place by Mary Rose Wood, which we have enjoyed. In them a young governess strives to educate her charges and to solve various mysteries. I was particularly struck by how the governess, Penelope Lumley, could be seen as a Charlotte Mason-style educator.

Now I find this post by Lisa Cadora at Childlight USA on how Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle also reminds her of Charlotte. We have also loved the Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books. They are fun reading for kids. I am not sure if my children have ever come away from them with new ideas like “I shouldn’t be greedy or I will be like the boy in the book.” But they have certainly made me think about how I train my children. We could all use a little more Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle in us I suspect.

I also liked how the post drew in Charlotte Mason’s fifth volume, Formation of Character. In my own series of posts working through Charlotte’s original homeschooling series, I am up to volume three, but I have been wondering how to tackle volumes four and five. Four is very different from the others in content, dealing not so much with education but with one’s inner life. Five is unique in that it seems to be more  a collection of short essays. Like Lisa Cadora, I also enjoyed reading the ones on habit training and though I hadn’t made the connection, I do see how they come across like Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle stories. What struck me most about them, though, is that the flaws they had to deal with were so minor. We tend to accept that older children in particular will have snarly attitudes and give their parents nasty looks and we don’t start dealing with such things until outright rudeness becomes evident to all. In Charlotte’s’ stories, the flaws seem to very mild but they are still recognized and dealt with.

So I still don’t know how I am going to deal with volumes 4 and 5 (which I suppose is why I have been dragging my feet on volume 3), but until then there is the Childlight USA article to tide you all over.

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...