Posts I Have Enjoyed Recently

Dear Reader,

A new thing here–I am beginning to occasionally share with you some of the posts I have read elsewhere that have really struck me.

From Nancy at Sage Parnassus, I read about sharing the effort to know. What I loved in this post is the idea that we can enjoy homeschooling our children. I am not saying there are never bad moments (after the long Thanksgiving weekend, my seven-year-old apparently forgot how to multiply), but if homeschooling is always a chore and never a joy for us, we need to rethink our approach. I am happy to say that I find the bulk of our homeschooling time enjoyable. And I think I am learning far more than the kids are.

I also loved this post on attention from Living Charlotte Mason in California. I have heard moms say that half or more of the boys in their kids’ classes are diagnosed with ADD or ADHD and on medicine for it. Once I heard a mom say all the boys but hers were on meds! She withdrew him to homeschool when they wanted him to be medicated too. I have one child who really struggles with attention. Or perhaps I should say I struggle with it. I am not sure he cares. I think if he had been in school, they would want to diagnose and medicate him too. He is definitely more distractible in busy environments and as bad as he is at home, I think he would be much worse in a traditional school setting. We do a lot of the CM things we should be doing to encourage attention– short lessons, narration, living books. But it is hard to be patient with the process. I am noticing that when we do stories in family worship that he has done in Sunday school that he really knows his stuff. I know Charlotte said not to repeat but I wonder if just coming across things twice helps. It is not immediate repetition but later repetition. Our history curriculum this year, Heritage History, encourages using two spine books one after the other so that one reads similar material twice. We haven’t gotten to the point of doing our second spine but I am wondering if this will be a good approach for us.

Dr. Carroll Smith makes me question the ever-abounding collection of graphic novels at my local library in this post on illustrations. Of course, these are watered-down or abridged tales anyway. But she shows how the pictures themselves can detract from the imagination which is the real power of learning.

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...