CM Volumes 4 and 5

Dear Reader,

If you have been here a while, you will know that I have been working through a series on things that struck me as I read through Charlotte Mason’s original homeschooling series. I have now completed my posts through volume 3.

Volume 4, Ourselves, is a very different kind of book. It is the most valuable in my opinion, but it is different. It is really not about education, at least not directly. It is more like an owner’s manual for your mind. Or maybe some kind of self-help book but not like any I have ever seen. I have read through it myself and am doing so again with my children, something Charlotte suggests in her introduction. The chapter we read yesterday was on gladness. It covered why we should be glad (it’s commanded), how often we should be glad (always), what sorts of things keep up from being glad (not hard times or trials as one might suppose), what the opposite of gladness is (self-pity), and how to cultivate gladness. Those are just the bits I remember off the top of my head and they are all in a 3-page chapter. Other chapters cover our appetites, benevolence, our sense of beauty, our reason and why we shouldn’t always listen to it; the list goes on and on. This book is chock-full of stuff I wish someone had told me much earlier in life. I highly recommend it. But because it is so good, I also want to be able to go through it slowly. So my current plan is to skip over it for now and to proceed on to the next volume.

Which brings us to volume 5, Formation of Character. This book is also different from the others. It takes the form of a series of shorter essays or anecdotes. I have less then usual to say about this volume, but I will spend  a few posts on it. I also recommend to you a couple of posts I have read recently on the topic: “Miss Mason and Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle” by Lisa Cadora and “Excretion of the Mind” by Nancy at Sage Parnassus.

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] As I have indicated previously, I am going to breeze through a lot of Charlotte Mason’s fifth volume, Formation of Character. This post is my attempt to address all of parts 1 and 2 of that book. […]

    Reply

  2. […] my plan is to get back to talking about Charlotte Mason’s fourth book, Ourselves, after I have gotten […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...