Divine Inspiration and Impulse Purchases

Dear Reader,

I just checked the “chronic illness” box in my categories list which I haven’t done in a while. Previously, any posts in this category would have been about my daughter’s type 1 diabetes or perhaps my son’s chronic headache which lasted 2 years but thankfully seems to be over now.

But now we have a new chronic illness to talk about. My mom who lives 600 miles away was up here visiting for the holidays and had a stroke. As I write this she is in the ICU. I don’t tend to post a lot of personal details on this blog. I don’t know if that will change now but if you do read regularly and notice that I get less regular about posting, you will know why. It is hard to say at this point whether I will be able to keep up with blogging or not. I could be too busy. Or it could be a nice diversion. I would like to finish my series on Charlotte Mason’s books and that still has quite a bit to go.

Anyway, I think there will be lots of things I could say about how God has worked/is working in this situation. There is already a lot we are grateful for in terms of timing. Like that my mom wasn’t at home when this happened because she lives (or lived) alone. And that the big stroke came when she was in the hospital already and not in my house or in front of the kids.

But in the realm of really trivial things to be thankful for, I am glad that I made an impulse purchase of  new crockpot about a week ago. I already had a perfectly good crockpot but this new one was $10 and it has a timer so I can set it to cook for a certain number of hours and then go off. At the time I really debated getting it and felt a little silly about it. What do I need two crockpots for? But now that life is a lot more hectic, I am using the crockpot a lot and it is nice to know that there is  a back-up if I don’t wash one before the next day and the timer feature is nice too. So maybe the whole thing wasn’t my impulsive spending as a little divine inspiration from One who knew what He was sending my way.

Nebby

3 responses to this post.

  1. Sorry to read of your mother’s stroke. Our God is good to us in times of trouble. Obviously his timing was perfect. Thinking of you and your family at this time.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patti Lofgren on January 4, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    Dear Nebby: My heart goes out to you and I lift you to our Heavenly Father – believing that the crock pot is just a “first fruits” of all the careful details He will cover for you and provide before you even know to ask during this difficult time. Blessings, Patti

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...