History Spine Books

Dear Reader,

Are you familiar with the idea of spine books? These are books which one uses, especially in history but possibly also in other subjects, to give a sort of backbone to one’s studies. That is, they give the whole story, though perhaps in less depth, and other books might be used to supplement and give more information on specific subjects of interest.

Some people don’t like spines but I really like using them. I think they work well with our situation which is four kids of different ages and reading levels. We can read the spine altogether and then I have the children read other books on their own which complement the spine and are geared toward their reading and comprehension levels. This system allows us to do history together and yet to also reach each child at his or her level.

So as I prepare for the coming year, I have been looking at a lot of possible spine books and I thought I would give my impressions of them. If you are new to this, perhaps my work will give you a better sense of which books  might be a good fit for your family. On the other hand, if you have used any of these, perhaps you can give me a more accurate impression of how well the books worked for you. These are not books I have read all the way through (I don’t have time for that!), but I have skimmed them to try t decide which will work best for us in the coming year. We will be studying early modern history (exploration of the New World through 1850 if we get that far), but many of these books either cover a wider scope or have other volumes so my observations may also apply if you are doing a different period.

Sp without further ado, here come the spines!

Child’s History of the World by V. M. Hillyer (CHOW) — We have used Hillyer’s Child’s Geography and really liked it. One of the main problems with that book, which I assume will also come up in the history volume, is that the language is dated. Specifically, the terms Hillyer uses for different people groups are no longer considered acceptable. He speaks, for example, of Mohammedeans and Negroes. As we went through his geography, I would either edit as I read, substituting a more acceptable term or else use it as a springboard to discuss how such things have changed.

Beyond that, this is a one volume history of the world, about an inch thick. As such, it cannot be terribly thorough. The language also appears fairly easy. I don’t think it would be at all challenging for my 7th and 8th graders. I may have my younger children read sections from it on their own. So my verdict on CHOW is that it is probably engaging and could be good for younger children to whom one just wants to give an overview of history but that it is not enough for our family to be the main spine we use.

Story of the World by Susan Wise Bauer (SOW) — These volumes are hugely popular, especially with classical homeschoolers but also with many others. There are, I believe, four of them and also optional supplements that give activities to go along with the readings. In the past, we have listened to parts of volume one, on the ancient world, as an audiobook. I ultimately decided I did not like SOW for ancient history because it combines all the cultures, going back and forth between Egypt, Mesopotamia, China, and others. That is not how I wanted to approach ancient history. I preferred to study one civilization at a time which I think was helpful for that period of history since the cultures had less contact with each other.

Of course, when you get to early modern history, the world is already much more connected so I thought it would be worth revisiting SOW for this time period. My kids have been through American history before, but I wanted to include events in Europe this time through to give them a broader perspective. So I thought SOW, which does take a more global look at history, might be  a good choice.

I have a list of topics I would like to cover, based on TruthQuest’s history guides. For many of the topics that go beyond America only, SOW seems to be the only resource so I think I will definitely be using parts of it. But I am not choosing it for my one and only main spine. The reason is that I am still not thrilled with how it approaches history. My main emphasis is still on American history and it does not seem to be very thorough on this. And it mixes in things like Japan and India which I have no problem covering at some point (we have done a brief unit on India and a long one on China) but since they are not at this point impacting American history, I don’t really want to include them now. Basically, I think SOW jumps around too much and I feel this can be confusing. If I want to give my kids a good impression of what early America was like (which I do), I want that to be our main emphasis.

Stories of the Nations by Sonya Shafer (SON) —  This volume, along with Stories of America, are the spines recommended by Simply Charlotte Mason for this period. I only purchased the nations volume because I assumed I would find material on America more readily but would need help with the topics which go beyond it. This book is listed as being for grades 1-6 and I would say that seems accurate. Now I have no problem using as a spine something that is a little bit below my older kids’ levels because I also want my younger two to be able to comprehend it. But I did find the chapters a bit short, and many of them are on topics we have already covered in our study of the Middle Ages such as Shakespeare and Kepler. So for us, I don’t think this is comprehensive enough, but again, like SOW, I will probably use some chapters to help flesh out the picture of what is happening in the rest fo the world.

Sweet Land of Liberty by Charles Coffin (SLL) — This seems to be a pretty comprehensive history of early America, up until the revolution. There is a volume after it, but I have heard that it is not as good. This is about the only book I have found that seems to cover America while still discussing the broader picture of how European nations figure in. In particular, it seems to spend  a lot of time discussing the struggles between the French and the English, but I suppose that is the major relevant struggle of the time. It does not get into things ike what is happening in Russia though I would like to cover that too. But I have two reasons not to use this book as our main spine. The first is that it is just written at too high a level for my younger kids. I think it would be good for a high schooler and I am still debating having my 8th grader read all or part fo it. The second issue is that it is not in my estimation as much of a living book as the others. Despite their flaws, all the books I have mentioned so far are living. That is, they tell history as an engaging narrative. Now SLL is by no means a textbook; it is  a narrative. But the way it is written seems less living to me. What I mean by that is that it goes quickly from one person or event to the next, throwing out dates and names in a way that I think would make it very hard for my kids to take each one in.

American History Stories by Mara L. Pratt — This is a four volume work available from Yesterday’s Classics. These seem like really nicely written, living accounts of American history. The level is perhaps below where my older kids (middle school age) would be but that it what I am looking for for our joint reading. There are two main reasons I did not end up choosing it for my family. The first is that I am just more familiar with the last work I will discuss by H.E. Marshall and I would like to continue with his writing. The second is that it is not the longer and therefore the most in-depth. On my Kindle, Pratt’s first volume which goes up to the Revolution takes 1320 locations while Marshall’s section covering the same period takes 4200. However, if one were looking for something a bit shorter, I think Pratt’s volumes would be a wonderful choice.

So that brings me, lastly, to This Country of Ours (TCOO) by H.E. Marshall. This is also available from Yesterday’s Classics. We just finished going through most of Marshall’s Our Island Story in our study of the British Middle Ages. It was a very engaging and detailed work and a large part of the reason I am opting to use Marshall’s volume on America is that we enjoyed his other one so much. I have found as I seek to align it with other books we might use that TCOO takes a different approach than many other books. While generally chronological, it deals with the colonies by area, discussing Virgina first, then New England, and then the Mid-Atlantic states, the Carolinas and Georgia. It then goes on to talk about the French in America and the Revolution. So if one wanted something more strictly chronological, this might not be the preferred work. I kind of like the idea of approaching it this way, however, just as I liked dealing with one ancient culture at a time. I am hoping it gives the kids a good picture of what is happening in each place. Either way, I figure, one jumps around, whether through time or through space.

Those are the spines I have looked at. I imagine there are still others out there. I would welcome feedback from anyone who might have actually used one of these.

Nebby

18 responses to this post.

  1. We’ve used a few chapters from CHOW, Story of the World, and TCOO (we follow AmblesideOnline). I did notice that Story of the World jumps around a lot. I would think that would be good, but it does leave me a little confused. Have you looked at any of the series by Genevieve Foster? “George Washington’s World” and such. I’ve actually had my kids read those on their own since they were understandable enough, so I can’t speak to how it’s arranged. I think it kind of jumps from country to country though.

    Reply

    • I guess I’m just not a fan of too much jumping around though I know CM does encourage some. At least, she doesn’t think everything needs to be tied in together to one time period.
      We used Foster’s Caesar Augustus’ World when we did Roman times. I did like it. I have on eof her books at least (Wm Penn’s world??) on my list of additional books to at least look at this year. I haven’t viewed the book yet though. Depsite her titles, it does seem her books are so thorough they could be spine books. Thanks for the feedback!

      Reply

  2. […] together time is just to read a spine book aloud and have the kids take turns narrating orally. I posted previously on our spine […]

    Reply

  3. […] did this post at the beginning of the year on our spine book and why I chose it. Our main history spine for the […]

    Reply

  4. […] I said then, our history spine for this year is H.E. Marshall’sThis Country of Ours (TCOO). This post  outlines why I chose it over many other worthy […]

    Reply

  5. […] as any Christian might, I approach books on this topic with trepidation. The spine books we are using this year, This Country of Ours by Marshall and Stories of Massachusetts by Pratt, both dealt with the topic […]

    Reply

  6. […] of Ours by H.E. Marshall — This is our main spine book that we read aloud together. See this post on history […]

    Reply

  7. […] so these cover all the rest. We are still using H. E. Marshall’s This Country of Ours as our spine as well as selections from Genevieve Foster’s The World of Captain John Smith for a more […]

    Reply

  8. […] level on their own. We will be doing the American Revolution this year (and hopefully a bit more). Our spine continues to be H.E. Marshall’s This Country of Ours. My current plan is to have my 8th grader read Guerber’s Story of the Thirteen Colonies as well […]

    Reply

  9. Posted by Diana N on June 22, 2014 at 11:16 pm

    I am going to be studying post Civil War/Industrial Revolution to modern times with my kids this year (ages 11, 10, 8). I also like the idea of a spine but I’m having a really hard time finding one for this time period. Have you gotten this far and do you have any recommendations?

    Reply

  10. […] We will be studying American history beginning with the Revolution. We use a spine book which I read aloud to all of them and then they read more age-appropriate books on their own. […]

    Reply

  11. […] of the Great Republic by Helen Guerber — This was our spine book for this topic. There were really only 4 or 5 chapters we read from it, but I did feel it gave a […]

    Reply

  12. […] Story of Modern France by Helene Guerber — We used this book as a spine and I read it to all the kids together. This was to make sure that they got the basic facts and […]

    Reply

  13. […] spines (books which I read aloud to all the kids to give us an overview and make sure there are no huge […]

    Reply

  14. […] we have been, we used our two spine books to keep us all on the same page, so to speak. They are This Country of Ours by H.E. Marshall […]

    Reply

  15. […] — First a bit about spine books. If you are not familiar with the concept, try this post. I have two sets of spines this year, one more advanced series which I am reading aloud to all my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...