What Our Homeschool Day Looks Like

Dear Reader,

So I posted recently on what we will be studying this year, but I realized that especially for new homeschoolers, or perhaps those new to a Charlotte Mason education, there may still be questions about exactly how it all works. So I thought I would say something about what a typical day for us looks like.

We tend to be early risers around here. I am up, showered, dressed and downstairs to feed the pets by 6:30 am. I need to get going early to beat my kids who are allowed down at 6:30. I have three who are naturally early risers and also tend to like to get their work done and out of the way early. They are frequently at it by 7 am. I have one child who is more of a night owl. Our plan this year is not to say that they must all begin at a  certain hour but to say that we will do our together work at 9 am. That should take no more than an hour and  a half, and as for the rest of their work, they have more control over when it gets done. This means that my one night owl can even do some at night in bed. This  might work especially well for Bible and history reading and even math if she knows what she is doing and doesn’t need my help. I am encouraging her to get a step ahead so that if she is doing work late, it is the next day’s work. I think this will take some pressure off so that she doesn’t feel behind if she doesn’t get to all she planned.

I expect the older two at least to have more work to do after out together time is done, but I am hoping that for the most part our afternoons will be free of schoolwork. We tend to have outside classes, things like music and athletics, in the afternoons. And we try never to miss our Thursday afternoon homeschool park days.

Some moms seem to have free time when their kids are doing their own work. I have never figured out how this happens. I am constantly in demand to check math problems, hear narrations, read out dictation passages, etc. I have to say I will not do any of that before 8 am or I would never get time to eat breakfast or check e-mail. Often I have a line up of kids waiting for my attention.

In terms of our weekly schedules, I use a four-day rotation. Each child gets a chart telling them what to do on each day. This does not mean that we only do school four days a week, though that often happens due to field trips or nature walks with other families. But in general I am trying to keep mornings free for school. But if we miss a day, we just pick up with the next day, And if we have a week in which we do school  five mornings, we get through more than a “week” worth. We might, for instance, begin Monday on a day 2, then move on to days 3 and 4, and then on Thursday begin again with a day 1 and finish the week with a day 2 and be ready for a day 3 the following  Monday. This system works for us and allows a lot of flexibility for missed days. My goal this year is to plan about 6 weeks out at a time so I don’t have too much preparation to do every week. We will see if that happens.

That is a glimpse of how our days and weeks work. Are there other questions about our homeschool shcedule?

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...