THM Recipe: Peanut Butter Muffins (S)

Dear Reader,

Looking for something a little more indulgent? I have a new variant of these muffins with chocolate . . .mmmm . . .  Check it out here.

Here once again is a Trim Healthy Mama recipe. These muffins are dense but tasty. They make a nice breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Muffins (S):

Ingredients:

1/2 c flax seed meal

1/2 c defatted peanut flour

1/3 c xylitol

stevia to taste (optional)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 c peanut butter

1 c almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs or 1/3 c egg whites

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients well (Gluten-free flours can take  a few minutes to absorb the moisture so if it seems liquid let it sit  a bit and then stir again before adding more dry ingredients). Divide batter among greased muffin cups. Bake 30 minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.

Peanut Butter Muffins (S)

Peanut Butter Muffins (S)

Enjoy!

Nebby

 

24 responses to this post.

  1. could i use almond flour instead of the peanut flour and flax meal?

    Reply

    • I would think that would work. It might not have as much of a peanutty taste but it still sounds good. If you try it, let me know how it turns out.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Katy Ray on September 17, 2014 at 11:36 pm

    What kind of peanut butter do you use? I just started doing THM and these look good!

    Reply

    • Usually Skippy Natural (from BJs) is what I have on hand. Sometimes I splurge on the grocery store brand natural which is a little more natural. The main thing is to try to avoid added sugars and especially, especially any corn syrup.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Darlene on September 23, 2014 at 1:22 pm

    What can be used instead of the defatted peanut flour ????

    Reply

  4. Posted by marie nix on October 13, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    Do you have nutritional info on this. Interested in carb count.

    Reply

    • So I get that if you make 12 muffins, each is 200 calories and 14g of fat. Carbs are a bit trickier because of the sugar alcohols in the xylitol. I have to count carbs for my daughter who had type 1 diabetes and what we do for her is count half the carbs from sugar alcohols. For this recipe that would mean each muffin has 6g of carbs. If you don’t count sugar alcohols at all this # will go down but if you count all the carbs from them then you are looking at 8-9g of carbs each. I am not sure if there is a right THM way to deal with the issue.

      Reply

  5. Posted by Stacy on January 2, 2015 at 10:36 am

    What can I use if I don’t have xylitol?

    Reply

    • I would think Truvia or the equivalent would work in the same amounts. Of course regular white sugar would also but I assume you want to stay sugar-free. I have not used THM’s sweetener and I don’t use plain stevia regularly. The former might work the same. With plain stevia you’d definitely have to adjust amounts of wet and dry ingredients. That might actually be true to a lesser degree with other sweeteners too. They tend to absorb liquids slightly differently. You are looking for about the consistency of a cookie batter, not a pourable dough but definitely moist. If you do try another sweetener, post again and let me know how it went.

      Reply

  6. Posted by R.S. on January 28, 2015 at 8:40 pm

    Loved these!! Going in my winner recipe file 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Karyn Basolo on March 10, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    THM serving for meal? Snack?

    Reply

    • My understanding is that THM really doesn’t distinguish between meals and snacks. The main thing would be to keep the carb count under 10. I think you would be fine with 2 muffins. I am honestly not quite sure how THM counts the carbs from sugar alcohols (there are various ways– mentioned in a comment above). If one is not counting them, you could even go up and have 3 muffins which is what I normally have when I have these for breakfast.

      Reply

  8. […] love my peanut butter muffin recipe, but sometimes a girl needs a change so I recently adapted them to make pumpkin muffins. These are […]

    Reply

  9. Posted by Erin on July 26, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Hi, are these full size or mini’s?

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jenny K on September 10, 2015 at 9:22 pm

    I tried these tonight. My husband doesn’t like zylitol so I tried using Swerve. I’m pretty new to using these sweeteners so I wasn’t sure how much to use. I decided to stick with the recipe and used a third of a cup of granulated Swerve. The texture of the muffins is a little dense but good, however, I didn’t use enough sweetener. They are not sweet at all. I am reporting this for anyone else who might want to try these…I will definitely use more next time.

    Reply

    • Thanks for the input, Jenny. I’ve never baked with Swerve, only used the powdered form in icings. The recipe does make a fairly dense (I like the adjective “filling”) muffin.

      Reply

  11. Posted by Jodi on March 1, 2016 at 11:39 am

    I made these in a mini muffin pan and it helped with the portion. They were very good!

    Reply

  12. […] is a new variant of my peanut butter muffin recipe. I think they’re scrumptious. They are also low-carb and gluten-free. If you are on the THM […]

    Reply

  13. […] have been in a muffin kick lately. This is a yet another variant of my peanut butter muffin recipe. My older son doesn’t like peanut butter so while we loved the chocolate peanut butter […]

    Reply

  14. Posted by Rebecca on October 30, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    You might try whipping the eggs whites to foamy before folding them in, as I’ve heard that will make baked goods more airy.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Megan S on November 1, 2016 at 11:33 am

    My whole family loves this recipe just as is! We have made them numerous times and they never last long! Thanks for a great recipe! (P.S. I found that baking them for a little less time makes them not seem as “dense” and we also use the egg whites not whole eggs. In my oven they are done at 22 minutes!)

    Reply

  16. […] This is what she’s working on today — my own gluten-free, low-carb peanut butter muffin recipe. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...