What Kind of Resolutions will You Make?

Dear Reader,

I have been reading another book by Frank Boreham (see my review of Mushrooms on the Moor here). This one is called A Handful of Stars. I will be reviewing this book  when I have finished it, but there is a bit where Boreham discusses New Year’s resolutions so I thought since it is the new year that would be worth looking at now.

Here is what he has to say:

“When, at the end of December, we pledge ourselves so desperately to do certain things no more, we entirely forget that our worst offenses do not consist in outraging the Thou Shalt Nots; our worst offenses consist in violating the Thou Shalts.” (p. 64)

Boreham goes on to discuss how in the parables Jesus tells, the bad guy is never the adulterer or thief who breaks one of the “shalt not” commandments. It is always the person who just doesn’t do what he should do — the one who passes by the sick, who doesn’t give, who doesn’t invest his talents. He also says, from his experience as a pastor, that people on their death beds do not fail to believe that God can forgive their outright sins. It is the things they have left undone that they most regret.

Personally, I haven’t made any resolutions yet. I don’t tend to do that though I suppose I have occasionally.But it does make one think what can I change this year? What should I be doing that I am not?

Nebby

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] of New Year’s resolutions, here is another post of mine on what kinds of resolutions we make. If you get a chance, leave me a comment saying what […]

    Reply

  2. […] in the book I am reading by Frank Boreham called A Handful of Stars (see this post for a brief introduction), I find this […]

    Reply

  3. There is one resolution I know I can keep: learn to write 2014 in the date! 🙂

    Reply

  4. […] me and makes me think. Some of his other works which I have reviewed are Mushrooms on the Moor and A Handful of Stars. Most recently I have been reading his book The Whisper of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...