Devotional Book Recommendation

Dear Reader,

I’d like to recommend to you a book I recently finished reading, A Handful of Stars by Frank Boreham. This is my second Boreham book and I have relished both of them. You can read my review of his Mushrooms on the Moor here.

In A Handful of Stars Boreham looks in each chapter at a few people and the Bible verse which has inspired them. I liked some chapters better than others, but some were truly inspiring and made me look at the verses they focused on in a whole new light.

There were also people discussed here whom I would not agree with on a lot of theological issues. Yet when you read Boreham’s description of their lives it is hard to argue with the reality of their faith.  On one hand this makes me wonder if most of us tend to focus too  much on one aspect of God’s Word or another and thereby fall off the theological balance beam to one side or the other.  On the other hand, it is hard not to be envious of people whose lives were so dominated by a single verse or idea to which they clung as if for life. And I wonder if I had a verse which was my guiding principle, if you will, what it would be.

This is a book to read slowly, one chapter at a time, so that each has time to penetrate and sink in. It is not a hard read but a very enjoyable one.

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. […] me and makes me think. Some of his other works which I have reviewed are Mushrooms on the Moor and A Handful of Stars. Most recently I have been reading his book The Whisper of […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...