THM Recipe: Pumpkin Cheesecake Whip (S)

Dear Reader,

The other morning I wanted something different for breakfast, but I hadn’t planned ahead to make anything ahead of time. I had a craving for cheesecake, especially pumpkin cheesecake (a perfectly acceptable breakfast on the Trim, Healthy Mama diet, you know), but I didn’t want to take half an hour or more to make it. So instead I came up with this recipe. It is enough for two servings. I had one for breakfast and one later that afternoon for snack. I will say the second, which had been in the fridge a while, was better. But even freshly made it was good and satisfied my craving for something creamy. For those of you with the THM book, you will recognize that this is based on their cheesecake berry crunch recipe. I have changed it by giving it a pumpkin instead of a fruity flavor. I also like using pecans in this combination and adding them near the end so that there are crunchy chunks in it.

Pumpkin Cheesecake Whip (S)

Ingredients:

5 oz. reduced fat cream cheese

1/2 c canned pumpkin

1.5-2 tbsp xylitol (or equivalent sweetener; I found 1.5 tbsp was sweet enough for me)

1 tsp cinnamon

splash vanilla

pinch salt

handful pecans

Directions:

Place all ingredients except pecans in a food processor and blend until it is all a uniform consistency. Add the pecans and mix another few seconds until, the pecans are broken up but some chunks still remain (I like texture in my food).

Enjoy!

pumpkincreamcheese

It tastes like pumpkin cheesecake without all the time involved. I think it would be great with some sort of S cookie as well. Any suggestions on that?

Nebby

4 responses to this post.

  1. […] is not a radical new innovation. It is a variant of my pumpkin cheesecake whip recipe, but it relies upon cottage cheese instead of cream cheese which makes it fat-free. In THM terms, […]

    Reply

  2. I am new to THM … about a month … are there any ginger cookie recipes? Because ginger cookie and pumpkin cheesecake go hand in hand! Very good! And somewhere I’ve seen a caramel sauce (THM of course) and my favorite Pumpkin Cheesecake has a gingersnap crust and a caramel sauce to drizzle … So this whip with a ginger cookie and slight drizzle of that sauce (where ever it is … I think I have it on pinterest) would be great!

    Reply

    • Sounds delicious! I would take melted butter, xylitol or other sweetener, almond meal and whatever spices you usually put in ginger cookies and mix them all up and press them in the bottom of a pie pan and bake them 10-15 min at 350. Then let it cool and spread the pumpkin whip on top.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...