Books

Dear Reader,

Here once again are some of the books we have been enjoying:

Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry — This is one I read. It was recommended at the Story-Formed Conference I attended recently. I loved this book and I can’t wait to read more of Berry’s works. It is a fairly short novel and not a hard read. There is nothing in it that would be inappropriate for older children but I suspect the themes would not appeal to them. It is the recollections of an elderly woman as she looks back at her life. There is not a ton of plot and it is very introspective. Based on that description I would not have thought it would be the sort of story I’d like but something about it really appealed to me. Berry has  a lot to say about what makes a community and why so few of us today have real communities. I highly recommend this book.

The Wayside School Collection by Louis Sachar — We are doing these as an audio book in the car. They are completely silly but can kind of make you think at times too. The set we checked out is a combination of three books each of which contains about 30 short chapters, each a separate incident in the life of a class of kids in a school that was built sideways (so they are on the 30th floor). The sentences tend to be very short, and I am not sure how this would come across if one read it on their own. The style of the audiobook highlights the silliness of it and makes it very entertaining. The book it most reminds me of is Gooney Bird Greene by Lois Lowry.

Emily of the New Moon by L.M. Montgomery — Did you know the author of Anne of Green Gables had a lot more books out there? I didn’t. I heard about these at the Story-Formed conference too and raced home to request them for my older daughter. She loved Anne and is enjoying these as well.

The Alchemyst and its sequels by Michael Scott — Truth be told I don’t know a lot about the plot of these books. My older son has been enjoying them and he is hard to find new series for. But my pastor’s son recommended these and I trust his and his parents’ judgement. He said that they have a lot of references to Greek mythology and the like which is right up my son’s alley.

Until next time

Nebby

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on May 27, 2014 at 9:26 am

    I enjoyed Hannah Coulter, too. I think that’s the book that he said something like “heaven is desire and satisfaction in the same room” – I love that!

    And L.M. Montgomery – I have always liked her, too! My favorites were the Anne series, Kilmeny of the Orchard, The Blue Castle (I still read that about every other year!), and the one about the vase – A Tangled Web? I can’t remember the title of it.

    I’m going to look for the audios of the Wayside School. Thanks for the suggestions!

    Reply

  2. I love the Anne of Green Gables video series; but I haven’t read the books yet but I do have the whole series of books. They are on my To-Read list. 🙂 I’ll have to check out Emily of the New Moon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Handwoven Textiles

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...