THM Recipe: Fuel Pull Pumpkin Muffins

Dear Reader,

The title says it all I think. These muffins have a  nice flavor thanks to the spices. Mine were if anything too moist. If you are not familiar with the Trim Healthy Mama jargon, fuel pull means they are low in both fat and carbs.

Fuel Pull Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients:

15 oz canned pumpkin

1/4 c egg whites

2 tbsp flax seed meal

2 tbsp coconut flour

1/4 c xylitol

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp xantham gum

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp ground cloves

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400. Grease muffin pan (I like to use a small amount of coconut oil for this). Mix all ingredients. Divide among muffin cups. Bake for 20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

Here they are baking in the oven.

Here they are baking in the oven.

Easy!

Nebby

21 responses to this post.

  1. Can’t wait to try these muffins!! I’m planning a fuel cycle for January to get back in track after the holidays. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Diane on May 26, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    Please forgive this question if it is stupid – is there a serving size for these muffins?

    Reply

    • Not a stupid question at all. I haven’t calculated it all out exactly but I think you can have 2 muffins and still be in FP territory.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Lori on July 21, 2015 at 10:26 am

    I made these and they didn’t rise at all. They are still yummy, but small and dense. More like pumpkin pie than muffins. Did I do something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly.

    Reply

    • Posted by Nebby on July 22, 2015 at 7:26 am

      It’s been a while since I made them. They don’t rise a lot (gf things don’t in general) but they should rise some. Maybe try a little more baking powder? Though I have also heard that too much can be counterproductive.

      Reply

  4. I agree with Lori — they taste great, but I would not call them muffins. They have the taste and consistency of pumpkin pie, without the crust.

    Reply

  5. Oh, they were yummy! BTW, I originally found your site after googling for a THM-friendly pumpkin muffin. Then I started scrolling around your recipes. I am going to have to make some more visits to your blog! 😍

    Reply

  6. do you think i could sub the gluccie for the xanthum gum?

    Reply

  7. […] Muffins by All Day I Dream About Food Pumpkin Cheesecake Muffins (S) by Capall Equine Photography Pumpkin Muffins (FP) by Letters From Nebby Pumpkin Muffins (S) by Beatific Pumpkin Applesauce Muffins (E) by Grassfed […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by Lorraine on April 26, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    I am just beginning the THM plan and can this muffin be eaten with an E meal?

    Reply

  9. […] Pumpkin Muffins – a more dense-type muffin, but delicious! […]

    Reply

  10. Posted by Cheryl Locklin on May 27, 2016 at 12:08 am

    Could I use THM baking blend instead of the flax meal and coconut flour? If not, I can just go buy the coconut flour. I just thought I would ask since I have the baking blend.

    Also, could I add zucchini to this recipe? I don’t think that would change the FP status, and I really enjoy the blend of pumpkin and zucchini.

    Thanks for this recipe, I love pumpkin muffins!

    Reply

    • I think the baking blend would work. You may need to adjust the amount of liquid. Different GF flours absorb different amounts so I would start slow with the liquid and add gradually. I don’t know if you would want more or less. Remember that GF flours can take a few minutes to absorb the liquid too so stir, let stir, stir in a little more and so on. It would definitely still be FP with zucchini. I’ve never considered zucchini and pumpkin together myself but I have some in the fridge, maybe I’ll give it a try too . . .

      Reply

  11. Thank you for a recipe that uses everything I havw now! I am finding so many recipes with oat fiber and I haven’t gotten any yet! Making these today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...