Book Finds

Dear Reader,

Our library has taken in recent weeks to having a shelf of free books in the children’s section. Many of these are not very interesting but I have come across a few that I consider real finds. One is on a subject we will be covering this year and the other is on a subject I would like to cover. Both are appropriate for my two older kids (whereas many give-away books are for younger children) and both seem to be living books. Here they are:

books1We are going to be continuing our study of American history this year, beginning with the Revolution, so I don’t think it will be too many months before we are on to the Constitution and the American government. The first book, The Great Constitution, is just what I was looking for for this.

books3I have read the first couple of chapters and it is a well-written account of how the constitutional convention came to be. It is not hard reading but is detailed and gives a good picture of the character of the participants. Plus it has lots of pictures.

The other book would fit under the subject heading anatomy which is something I would like to cover if time permits.

books2It is called Spare Parts and is about how we have and will alter the human body. I have read the first chapter so far which is a history of prosthetics, nose jobs and the like. It is interesting if sometimes disgusting. I think my soon to be 14-year-old boy will like it.

The real question is why is a library giving away these books? There are so many more on their shelves which I would consider expendable. I am happy to have these books for my own, of course, but I worry about the standards our libraries have when they give away the living books. I suspect it is a matter of looking to see what hasn’t been checked out ni an age and purging to make room for new books. But it is still sad.

Nebby

 

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...