On Evil

Dear Reader,

I have been blogging lately on thoughts that occurred to me as I read through Grant Horner’s book Meaning at the Movies. Many of these have been about the movies, but many have been on other topics (or at least peripheral topics) as well.

Today’s topic is evil. Speaking of the movie The Exorcist, Horner tells us  that its creators did not view this movie as fictional. They believed the evil it represented was real. And then he says this:

“Because it foregrounds the uncomfortable truth (the biblical truth) that real evil is never merely abstract: it is someone.” (p. 141; emphasis his)

Wow. It’s hard to even know what to say about that. I have never thought of evil in that way before. Love, of course, is personal — God is love and He is a person (or three). But this is a new thought to me.

The only thing I can add is to say that it calls to mind a pastor I used to have who would have us recite the Lord’s Prayer during worship as he translated it. Where most say “and deliver us from evil,” he has “and deliver us from the Evil One.” This also serves to make it personal. Is evil always so? I don’t know. I am struck by Horner’s statement and my gut wants to ay it is true. But I wonder what of anything that says about the origin of evil. Would there have been no evil if there weren’t  a person (not a human necessarily, but Satan on this case) to be the source of it? We do tend to view evil as a sort of impersonal force in  our popular conception and it is hard to believe that this is true. It tends to lead to a dualistic understanding of the world (good and evil equally balanced) which I know is not true. And it certainly is true that all the evil we see comes from someone or some ones. It doesn’t just happen; people do them. People a lot like us, truth be known. So is evil someone? What do you think?

Nebby

2 responses to this post.

  1. I just happened on to your blog today and was wowed that you write about homeschooling, theology, and THM, because those are all things I have spent a lot of time with myself! 🙂 Anyway, after reading/skimming quite a bit because you just seem like my kind of person, I found this post and had to comment. Not because I have an answer–I definitely don’t–but because evil is something I have also pondered lately.

    You pose a good question. I had never thought of evil as a person, and I am trying to wrap my mind around that concept. I have heard that evil is the absence of good (God) just as darkness is the absence of light, but I can’t quite make that one compute either because isn’t God everywhere? Unless, of course, He chooses to make a place where He is not… Like I said, my mind gets stuck in the spin cycle when it comes to evil! 🙂

    Here’s what I wrote about it recently…well, not very recently, because I have fallen off the blogging wagon lately, but nevertheless, here it is. Once again, I have questions, not answers, but it’s intriguing to think about!

    https://dayuntoday.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/why-evil/

    Reply

    • Thanks so much for commenting! The internet may have its downsides but I think it’s great that we can find and connect with like minded people who may live far away. I want to look at you blog and will comment. I’ve been under the weather this week and a lot is not getting done but I will get to it!
      Nebby

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...