Random Bible Observations

Dear Reader,

More than anything else, I think this blog is for me, because I am a forgetful person and all my clever thoughts will quickly dissipate if I don’t write them down somewhere. That goes for everything here from cookie recipes to how to parent. Perhaps even more than most others this post is for my own sake, so I won’t forget the random tidbits I have been taking in.

Here then are some random Bible related observations from readings I have been doing:

  • Numbers 14:22-23a: “None of the men who have seen my glory and my signs that I did in Egypt and in the wilderness, and yet have put me to the test these ten times and have not obeyed my voice,  shall see the land that I swore to give to their fathers.” [All biblical quotes are ESV unless otherwise noted; emphasis mine.] The phrase “ten times” struck me. These peopke saw the ten plagues God sent on Egypt and yet they have tested Him ten times and now are clamoring to return to Egypt. They really have learned very little, if anything.
  • Exodus 12:41 is my new favorite verse. Are you ready for how exciting and inspirational this is? Here we go — “At the end of 430 years, on that very day, all the hosts of the LORD went out from the land of Egypt.” Amazing, isn’t it? Did you catch the key bit? It is “on that very day.” The Israelites were in Egypt for 430 years to the very day before God led them out. When you are questioning God’s timing in your life, think about that.
  • Romans 16:20- “The God of peace will soon crush Satan under your feet.” I don’t know why I never before noticed this very obvious allusion to Genesis 3:15: “He (the offspring of the woman) shall bruise (or crush) your (the serpent’s) head and you shall bruise his heel.”

Until next time

Nebby

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...