Living Books: Victorian England

Dear Reader,

We took a slight detour from our study of American history recently do look briefly at Victorian England. I’m amazed by Queen Victoria, how she managed to have a healthy marriage, a whole passel of kids, and run a country and win the love of her people. She was quite a woman.

When it comes to kids’ books set in or about Victoria’s reign, there is no shortage of wonderful choices. In fact, there really are too many to choose from and we were dealing with a fairly short time-frame.

Let me start by talking about some of the books we didn’t read — though they are some of the best kids’ books ever. The cream of the crop, of course, is Charles Dickens. We have actually been reading Great Expectations as our lunch-time read aloud (a wonderful practice that I highly recommend, by the way; meals make for captive audiences). We have also read “A Christmas Carol,” Oliver Twist, and David Copperfield so I didn’t feel we needed to add any more Dickens at this time. But our goal is a Dickens’ book a year and that is another practice I would highly recommend. Don’t wait too late either. Kids can appreciate the stories earlier than you think. My youngest was 8 when we first read a whole Dickens novel and she was able to enjoy the story despite its length.

Speaking of Dickens, you might also want to check out Dodger by Terry Pratchett in which Charles Dickens is a character. I have only read a few of his books, but Pratchett is becoming a favorite author. Dodger is one I read for myself some time back. It is a wee bit raunchy though the morals of the main character are good. It’s probably better for high schoolers more because of content than reading level.

Next up is a category I am calling “wonderful authors but they are apparently actually Edwardian.” In this group we can include Frances Hodgson Burnett, author of A Little Princess, The Secret Garden, and Little Lord Fauntleroy, and E. Nesbit of The Railway Children, The Phoenix and the Carpet and many more classic children’s books. Because we have read a lot of these in the past and because they technically aren’t quite the right period, we didn’t do any this time (with one exception from Nesbit; keep reading to find out what it is).

Other books to consider on this period but which we haven’t used recently (I told you there were a lot on or from this period):

  • Books I’ve never read but which are on my to-do list: Captains Courageous by Rudyard Kipling, Water Babies by Charles Kingsley, The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain
  • Books I couldn’t lay my hands on: The London Child and Country Child, Dream Days by Kenneth Grahame
  • Books I have on my counter and am going to get to soon: The Eleventh Orphan by Joan Lindgard and Montmorency by Eleanor Updale
  • Books we listened to in the car which were pretty good if somewhat fanciful: the Bogle books by Catherine Jinks
  • A Victorian era author to consider: George MacDonald — lots of Christians love him. I have liked a few of his books but found others not to my taste.

Now, on to the books we actually did use. In the realm of non-fiction, I already gave  a preview when I posted on how I choose living books. You can read that post here. Of the three mentioned in that post, I chose not to us Becoming Victoria by Lynne Vallone because, as I said, it didn’t appeal to me early on. I also, regretfully, set aside Edward Ormondroyd’s All in Good Time mostly because it is the second in a series and I’d like to do the first one first.

I did end up having my ten-year-old read Sally Glendinning’s Queen Victoria: English Empress.

victoria7

She seems to have enjoyed it and to have appreciated Victoria’s family life. I think she made even more of a connection, however, with the other book she read, At Her Majesty’s Request by Walter Dean Myers:

victoria5

This is the story of an African princess who lived in Victoria’s court and seems to have been quite an engaging one.

My 12-year-old read Queen Victoria by Dierdre Shearman:

victoria13

It was not the best living book but was alright.

My 9th-grader read The True Story of Queen Victoria: British Monarch by Arthur H. Booth:

victoria12

It was a little simple for her and is probably better for middle schoolers. In her words, “it was not really a good book but it wasn’t bad either.” I should say she is a very harsh critic of anything she knows is for educational purposes.

I thought about having my daughter read In the Shadow of the Lamp by Susanne Dunlap. It is a novel about Florence Nighingale which I loved the idea of, but a cursory examination led me to believe that it had way too much girly, romance stuff in it for my tastes.

victoria4

I had my 10th-gradre focus in a little more and read The Crimean War by James Barbary:

victoria2

I don’t know if he enjoyed it but he did a good job narrating it and it seems to have given a good introduction to the Crimean War. I consider it one of my better picks this time. I would definitely look for Barbary’s books in the future.

I read Victoria and Her Court by Virginia Schomp aloud to my younger two:

victoria9

Again, it was not really a living book. It gave us a very general overview of the queen and her time. I would say it had more about her private life than about public events.

We also squeezed in a couple of  picture books, Queen Victoria’s Bathing Machine by Gloria Whelan (a good author to look for) and A Picture Book of Florence Nightingale by David Adler (he has a number of such books and they tend to be good):

Both were quite enjoyable.

The big winners of my “must-read” prize, however, were two books which each give a picture of life in Victorian England.

victoria15

Long Ago When I was Young is by that old favorite author, E. Nesbit. Unlike her other books, it is not fiction but an autobiographical (or semi-so?) account of her childhood days. It is an absolutely charming book. I couldn’t put it down. I wish I had had time to read it to all my kids, but I did have my 10-year-old read it. (Note that while I said the novels of the grown-up Nesbit are Edwardian, her childhood would have been Victorian.)

victoria1

Fanny and the Monsters by Penelope Lively is actually a collection of 3 shorter stories about a young girl with a large family living in Victorian times. You get a feel for her life with nursery maids and governesses, she visits the fanous Crystal Palace, and you even get a taste for the controversy over Darwin. And it is very amusing.

Nebby

 

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...