Homeschool Plans: 2016-2017

Dear Reader,

I had posted on our high school plans for the four years, but I realized I never did anything on what we are doing this year. In 2016-17 I will have two in high school — 10th and 11th grades — and two in middle school — 6th and 7th.

Stuff we do together

We still have things we do together; this is part of our day I am loathe to give up. I don’t know if the kids like it, but I do. We have pared down our “together work” of the last year or so though. Last year we went from every day to 3 days a week. We’re going to keep to that schedule this year, but I am making one more big change. History has always been the heart of our homeschool and the big thing we do together. We are still going to read our history spine together but I picked a much simpler, quicker spine and I want to spend considerable time on Bible study too. I came to the realization that adults I know, who I feel shoud know better, don’t turn to the Bible when they should. I want my kids to get used to dealing with the Bible. They all do (or should do) daily BIble reading on their own but this is something more and different. I’ll try to post exactly what we are doing and how it is going as the year progresses. (Feel free to remind me in a month or two if I haven’t said anything.) We will also continue to do psalm studies together occasionally.

The other subjects we will do together are history, Shakespeare, and geography. The bulk of their history reading is done on their own but I like to read a general “spine” book together to give us an overview of the period we are studying. It helps to make sure we don’t miss any key events. They then read on their own books at their own level and on more specific topics. This year we are doing 20th century history. The focus for the younger three is on American history but I plan to give my oldest books on international events so he gets a broader view.

The other subjects we do together will alternate. I began ding geography through maps last year and we will continue that. I’m contemplating getting through two Shakespeare plays this year, Julius Caesar and something more light such as The Taming of the Shrew.

Middle School

As I said, history is the cornerstone of what we do. Our approach is simple: read and narrate, read and narrate. Using a spine book together for an overview allows us to focus on specific topics in their individual reading. I rely heavily on the TruthQuest guides to find books, as well as just looking at what our library system has and checking for favorite authors. I blog about what books we used after each section. Look for the living books tab up top to find all our booklists.

In the past I have given my younger two assigned Bible readings but I am going to see if they can stay on track on their own this year and let the at least start out by picking what they want to read.

Since my older two have advanced to high school, I have decided I really wish we had done less formal science when they were younger and focused more on living books and nature study. We have been quite slack on formal nature study so I’d like to get back into that this year. In addition, my 7th grader will be reading The Wonderbook of Chemistry and Joe’s Body. My 6th grader has some science combined with her math — she is doing Life of Fred Pre-Algebra with Physics and Life of Fred Pre-Algebra with Biology. She is also going to read The Storybook of Science. I would like both of them to do some of this aloud with me, that is with them reading aloud to me. Three of my four kids had speech delays when they were little and we really need to work on enunciation.

My 7th’s grader’s math will be Life of Fred Pre-Algebra with Economics. I am also going to have him read Richard Maybury’s What Ever Happened to Penny Candy? I feel I should say, though, that I am not a fan of Maybury’s. I know a lot of homeschoolers use him and I am okay with this first of his books but I really regret letting my oldest read Whatever Happened to Justice? Maybury has a definite viewpoint and it is not mine. Before you get into his books, I’d recommend looking into what he believes. You can see my specific thoughts on that here.

For language arts this year I am trying to go pure CM with these two. In the past we have always done a spelling curriculum too and I’d like to get away from that. We will be doing copywork and prepared dictation from Spelling Wisdom Book 3.

Both kids have asked for a foreign language so I set them both up with DuoLingo online. One chose German and the other Swedish.

At various points when there is room in their schedules they will read other books. My 6th grader will start with Anne of Green Gables.

There are a few subjects the three of us will do together without the high schoolers. These include poetry, artist and music study, and church history. These will rotate so only one is done per day. All my kids have an instrument and take lessons.

High School

History for high school is the same as for the middle schoolers, just with harder books. Bible reading they are on their own for as well. I will give them theology (a term I am using very broadly) books to read as well as they have slots in their schedules. My 11th grader is starting with John Calvin’s Golden Booklet of the True Christian Life and Frank Leahy’s The Hand of God.

My oldest will be taking physics labs at a local coop every other week. He will do the readings from the textbook they use, but I am also including some living books. I will post on those another time. My 10th grader will be doing chemistry using Life of Fred Chemistry, a selection of living books (see this post), and Landry labs two day intensive.

My 10th grader will do civics using The Everything US Government Book and Lessons for the Young Economist (again a lot of this is in my high school post). My 11th grader asked for a course on political science and so I am developing one for him. I will post on that in the future as well.

My oldest takes Latin with a tutor using The Cambridge Latin Course. My 10th grader is going to try Spanish 1 with Classes by Beth Plus, an online class.

I am going to try something a little different for English this year. Both high schoolers will be reading a lovely little writing book I found and trying their hand at some essay writing. This will alternate with “Movies as Literature” which I am creating based on Horner’s book Meaning at the Movies (see my review here).

I am going to have them both read Francis Schaeffer’s How Shall We Then Live and watch the videos of it as well. Having read the book, I decided it’s a bit dense and that the reinforcement of doing both would be good.

My daughter is aiming for art school so she has a lot in that department. She takes drawing classes with a private instructor and will do a digital photography class this fall. She is also going to read Leland Ryken’s Liberated Imagination on Christianity and the arts (my review here). Schaeffer’s book also has a lot to say on art.

I am trying something different for some of their narrations; it is sort of half narration, half commonplace book. For Schaeffer and Horner and Ryken at least they will do a page in a notebook (just a plain one, not special pages) after each reading in which they sum up what points they think the author is making, copy a favorite quote and write and questions, comments or disagreements they have.

For math my son is continuing to work through Life of Fred Calculus and my daughter is trying Teaching Textbooks Algebra 2.

Nebby

One response to this post.

  1. Love so many of your choices! I’ve never tried TruthQuest, but heard a lot about it. We use MFW from k-8th grade and then my oldest has been very eclectic in high school.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Sabbath Mood Homeschool

Desiring That a Sabbath Mood Rest on Your Homeschool

dayuntoday

my musings, wise or otherwise

Festival Fete

locally grown art, food, and merriment

StrongHaven

A Literary Homestead

journey-and-destination

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Harmony Fine Arts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

The Common Room

....Blogging about cabbages and kings since 2005.

Sage Parnassus

Blogging about education, theology, and more

A peaceful day

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Living Charlotte Mason in California

Blogging about education, theology, and more

weeklywalrus

Weekly Walrus Whatevers

Creations by Maris

Craft Projects For all Ages

Fisher Academy International ~ Teaching Home

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Afterthoughts

Blogging about education, theology, and more

Leah's Bookshelf

Book Reviews You Can Trust

Duxbury Art Boosters

Supporting the visual arts in Duxbury Public Schools

Just Right Porridge

... you'll lick your bowl clean...