Is It CM?: New Entries

The homeschooling marketplace seems to be always expanding. One of the most frequent questions I get is “What about . . . curriculum? Is it CM?” My own days of active homeschooling are near their end, but I am going to try to keep up with what is out there just so you have it all on one place. Today’s curriculum reviews will be added to my master Is It CM? page as well as to my Google docs chart of CM and CM-inspired curricula. For a look at how I evaluate these curricula, please do see that Is It CM page where I discuss methodology and criteria.

Here then is today’s game of: Is it CM?

Lamp + Light Homeschool

Lamp + Light calls itself a “Christian minimalist” approach with elements of many different philosophies from Unschooling to Classical.

What’s CM about it?

Lamp + Light makes use of narration, copywork, and dictation. It includes nature journaling and some art and music. It uses some living books.

What isn’t CM?

As far as I can tell, most of the books that L+L uses are readers from Pathway or The Good and the Beautiful. These readers are not living books though they may contain material that is living. I do not see picture/artist study. While narration is used, I am not sure that the approach is quite what I would call CM-style narration. (L+L links to Heart to Heart Homeschooling articles to explain topics like narration and dictation.)

Quick Take Summary:

There is a lot here that could be used in a CM way. The biggest drawback I see is that there is just not a good supply of true living books.

The Peaceful Press

The Peaceful Press began as a preschool curriculum and has expanded through the elementary years and also includes resources for older years as well. It bills itself as a “living” approach to education and seems to have close ties to the Wild + Free community (read my takes on Wild + Free here and here). You can sign up for a free sample of their curriculum but it is hard to see much so my analysis may be somewhat limited.

What’s CM about it?

The books it uses seem good.

What isn’t CM?

Since Peaceful Press started with the early years and has a lot of preschool materials there is the issue that formal learning before age 6 is inherently not CM. Beyond that, it adds a lot of activities and does not seem to emphasize CM-style narration. It seems a little light in terms of the number of readings and what is read. The site mentioned art but I didn’t see that in the bit I looked at so I would also like to see art and music study and also nature lore and nature journaling.

Quick Take Summary:

I don’t see a lot here that is inherently CM.

Leave a comment